Monday, May 30, 2016

Affordable Pressure Cleaning

Jacques Laxale 0438758901 has done pressure cleaning for us on our house in Sydney NSW for some years now.
Today we had some major work done. Jacques does patio, driveways, outside walls and roofs.
Jacques is a great worker… Jacques Laxale 0438758901








Friday, March 18, 2016

Other news: Cornerstone AOG Epping Missions News

Do keep an eye on our page on Facebook which is public. You should not need to register for Facebook
I share items that our missionaries and others post on Facebook ....
Cornerstone AOG Epping Missions News

Today 18 March a re-post from Doug Higgins on being a missionary

If you are on Facebook you can follow our missionaries and some Cornerstone folk

Saturday, January 09, 2016

A Brief History of the Anglo-Saxons: The Beginnings of the English Nation by Geoffrey Hindley — Reviews, Discussion, Bookclubs, Lists

Very interesting period of "English" history. How did the Saxons arrive in Britain. The church and the pagans. And then the Danes. On TV I am watching Netflix "The Last Kingdom" a great series on King Alfred.
Some strange laws from Saxon time. A scheduled fine for a priest drunk at a baptism.
Lots more to read...  


Books: Signal (Sam Dryden, #2) by Patrick Lee

Signal (Sam Dryden, #2) by Patrick Lee — Reviews, Discussion, Bookclubs, Lists

A Great Read... at first sight it is an action special forces story ... some reviews compare to Tom Clancy. But as story develops it is also Science Fiction well sort of time travel. And How the complications of all this really get your brain working. 
I shall be looking for more Patrick Lee

Tuesday, March 03, 2015

Are Neanderthals Human? ETC ETC

The experts talk about Neanderthals and Sapiens as distinct species. And it used to be that Sapiens did ethnic cleansing and rid the world of Neanderthals. Last couple of years things seem to be changing. First of all I read about Neanderthal DNA in the Sapiens genome. Then interbreeding.

2015 Dec
The Archaeology News Network: Study differentiates facial growth in Neanderthals and modern humans which to me is very strange analysis... Waffle about facial growth being sufficiently different
However, our findings, based upon facial growth patterns, indicate they are indeed sufficiently distinct from one another.

Read more at: http://archaeologynewsnetwork.blogspot.com.au/2015/12/study-differentiates-facial-growth-in.html#.VmdB5xDpxGM
Follow us: @ArchaeoNewsNet on Twitter | groups/thearchaeologynewsnetwork/ on Facebook
However, our findings, based upon facial growth patterns, indicate they are indeed sufficiently distinct from one another.

Read more at: http://archaeologynewsnetwork.blogspot.com.au/2015/12/study-differentiates-facial-growth-in.html#.VmdB5xDpxGM
Follow us: @ArchaeoNewsNet on Twitter | groups/thearchaeologynewsnetwork/ on Facebook
However, our findings, based upon facial growth patterns, indicate they are indeed sufficiently distinct from one another.

Read more at: http://archaeologynewsnetwork.blogspot.com.au/2015/12/study-differentiates-facial-growth-in.html#.VmdB5xDpxGM
Follow us: @ArchaeoNewsNet on Twitter | groups/thearchaeologynewsnetwork/ on Facebook
However, our findings, based upon facial growth patterns, indicate they are indeed sufficiently distinct from one another.

Read more at: http://archaeologynewsnetwork.blogspot.com.au/2015/12/study-differentiates-facial-growth-in.html#.VmdB5xDpxGM
Follow us: @ArchaeoNewsNet on Twitter | groups/thearchaeologynewsnetwork/ on Facebook
However, our findings, based upon facial growth patterns, indicate they are indeed sufficiently distinct from one another.

Read more at: http://archaeologynewsnetwork.blogspot.com.au/2015/12/study-differentiates-facial-growth-in.html#.VmdB5xDpxGM
Follow us: @ArchaeoNewsNet on Twitter | groups/thearchaeologynewsnetwork/ on Facebook
However, our findings, based upon facial growth patterns, indicate they are indeed sufficiently distinct from one another.

Read more at: http://archaeologynewsnetwork.blogspot.com.au/2015/12/study-differentiates-facial-growth-in.html#.VmdB5xDpxGM
Follow us: @ArchaeoNewsNet on Twitter | groups/thearchaeologynewsnetwork/ on Facebook

And these examples come from one week in September 2012

Neanderthals and human lived side by side in Middle eastern caves and even interbred, research finds | Mail Online

Europeans did not inherit pale skins from Neanderthals - life - 26 September 2012 - New Scientist

NOVA | Are Neanderthals Human?

Neanderthals ... They're Just Like Us?

March 2013
 Tiny monkey teeth suggest Flores hobbit was a dwarf - life - 06 March 2013 - New Scientist

 The way we weren't: U of Minnesota biologist debunks myth that humans peaked in Paleolithic era

First early human fossil found in Africa makes debut - quite clearly it is really saying Yes we have worked it out and then but no we haven't

This one is fun The Neanderthals May Have Died Out Because of ... Bunnies? - Megan Garber - The Atlantic


And finally a fairly in depth discussion of DNA aspects -
Interbreeding With Neanderthals | DiscoverMagazine.com

 good work  the data is being collected and analysed

25 March more ....

 Neanderthal brains focused on vision and movement leaving less room for social networking so they didn't do Facebook?

Human Fossil Reveals No Genetic Bone Disorder | Human Evolution | LiveScience so the original research on Turkana Boy was all wrong the bones were assembled badly - sounds like The Brontosaurus never existed: A tale from the Bone Wars | The Sideshow - Yahoo! News - in essence the wrong skull

German team sequences full Neanderthal genome for the first time and makes it available to scientists for FREE | Mail Online

 Neanderthals: Facts About Our Extinct Human Relatives | LiveScience
 There is some debate as to whether they were a distinct species of the Homo genus (Homo neanderthalensis) or a subspecies of Homo sapiens

2014
'Neanderthal' Remains Actually Medieval Human | LiveScience 


Neanderthal speech - hyoid bone hypothesis - : Archaeology News from Past Horizons

Diabetes Risk May Come from Neanderthal Gene | LiveScience











And now N's weren't stupid
Study questions Neandertal inferiority to early modern humans

and
Modern humans left the home continent in at least two waves  


2015 and still High Imagination at work
Dogs bred from wolves helped humans take over from Neanderthals in Europe | Daily Mail Online
Wolves hounded large animals like mammoths etc and then when animal exhausted the homo sapiens moved in for the kill.... This meant the Neanderthals missed out on the prey and so died out....
Questions: Evidence that only Sapiens domesticated dogs? and that Neanderthals didn't use dogs and couldn't find anything else to eat.



Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Ron's Christmas Wallop

Ron's Christmas Wallop - a drink for Christmas
Ensure you have a clean bottle
Beat together
3 EGGS
1/2 tin of Condensed Milk - a good brand - it needs to be sweet
Add
1 Tablespoon of Coffee essence (yes the liquid with chicory - Camp Brand if avail)
plus
2 Tablespoons of Chocolate Topping
Beat again
add
3/4 cup of rum (whisky is you prefer it)
Beat Again
One carton of Fresh Cream (oh well its Christmas)
Beat 6 seconds - if too long will get very thick
Pour into bottle - should be enough left over for a taste
Put into fridge - this is a way of making cream last longer

I have been known to use one cup of rum which sure gives enough for a taste.
After all you need the Rum to keep the cream and eggs. 
Very nice on ice and with milk

Camp Coffee can be purchased from http://www.worldservice-uk.com/bevs.html
not inexpensive -In Sydney we can buy Bushells which is very similar.
I suppose if the bottle stuff not available - you could make some very strong coffee and include in the mix

Monday, September 22, 2014

Hazlehurst Road - Wandsworth - V2 Rocket November 1944 and Service 16 Nov 2014

November 1944 Bomb Damage in Wandsworth - Hazlehurst Road Garratt Lane

Hazlehurst Road - Map and modern photo and MEMORIAL SERVICE DETAILS




A service in being held on 16 November 2014 to remember a terrible night in 1944 when a V2 Rocket fell and killed 34 people. A friend was there and gave me photographs of the damage. Since then the pages have grown and several relatives of the dead have contacted me and my pages provide some idea of the horrible impact of such weapons. We are hoping to contact other relatives re the service if you know any likely people please pass on....

Monday, September 01, 2014

Farewell: Bill Kerr aged 92




Bill Kerr obituary | Television & radio | The Guardian

Perhaps Bill was the first Aussie I ever heard when he walked on in Hancock's Half Hour

as the bloke from Wagga Wagga. And I was amazed to find WaggaWagga.  was a real place.

Bill was a laconic butt for "Tony" and the show was so funny.
Above Tony Hancock, Moira Lister, BILL KERR, Sid James

Bill had walk in parts in all manner of films Bill Kerr - IMDb ..  amazing his first film was 1933. Bill often very funny but also serious roles such as The Lighthorsemen (1987) - as General Chauvel


I will always remember his mad role in Razorback (1984) - IMDb

about the wild monster pig that brings terror to an outback town and Bill is the professional hunter  "There's something about blasting the shit out of a razorback that brightens up my whole day. "

Good on yer cobber

Monday, May 19, 2014

Farewell: Jack Brabham

Back in Jack's time I was very keen on Motor Racing 

Jack Brabham obituary | Sport | theguardian.com



For me it was all Jack, Stirling Moss, Jim Clark and Graham Hill.
Jack was high on my list at the time for his determination
Jack Brabham pushes his car to world title, Florida 1959
He was also obviously a very great gentleman


The photos are of Brands Hatch in March 1965 in the pits and at Druid's corner a severe test for the drivers













Sunday, March 09, 2014

Movie: The Great Beauty "La grande bellezza" (original title)


The Great Beauty (2013) - IMDb





Won an academy award as best foreign language but is it that worthy?  We saw it on vacation in Narooma as our friends had heard it was a great travel film on Roma and we've all enjoyed visits to Roma.



Well did it have great shots of Roma - but only some. Such as the opening is good a classical choir and an old building and an Asian tourist with DSLR taking shots of the City from the Hill. With a smile on his face he drops dead - "see Rome and die" yes it must have been what was meant. The the long Closing credits with a slow boat down the Tiber. That was good. The hero Jep has an penthouse overlooking the Coliseum but no new insights except he is rich. A mysterious character has a briefcase full of keys to palaces staked with antique works of art. Some excellent pans of statues etc....

We see a lot of strange goings on. It is a 21st century version of 1960 "La Dolce Vita ". decadent high society life. Often there are sex scenes. A performance event out of town at the aqueducts. A naked girl runs head on into an aqueduct. Blood appears. Jep who works for a magazine interviews with sarcasm the organiser. Several parties at which they dance in lines to loud rhythmical drum music - called Ethiopian Jazz. Jep says how well they perform "the Train". These loud scenes go on and on - much too long.



Jep now knows his first love has died and wonders about life. A crazy cardinal who recites food recipes and won't talk to Jep of spiritual matters (symbolic of a sidetracked Church).  A 100 year old nun/saint appears...who then struggles on her knees up the stairs at which Martin Luther realised that self imposed suffering was not the way to heaven. Yes it has interesting stuff and like a lot of such films people will use it to discuss life etc...

But its long and I just wish someone had learned about film editing and continuity of script.  You will hear discussion of what happened to Ramona - because it is just not clear. Jep pontificates on how to perform at funerals and you have to work out who died. So was the journey worth it. Reading around some walked out. Our friends thought it was awful - well more did not live up to the promise of lovely Roma. Other reviews rave about the film.  Jep is a sad sarcastic character but played very well by and he has a lot of laughs amongst his disillusionment .....

See it or not well as its Roman -  Caveat Emptor









Thursday, January 16, 2014

St Piran's: Britain's oldest chapel to be re-excavated

Exciting news we visited St Piran's in 1955 - wow a 6th century chapel... Just amazing those early days of Christianity in Britain

The Archaeology News Network: Britain's oldest chapel to be re-excavated













And here are Mum and Dad a bit frozen well a tricky flash shot as very dark inside the protecting bunker ....










Above written in Jan 2014and now August 2015 an update on the site including colour photo above showing the altar where my parents stood in 1955
The Archaeology News Network: Skeletons found at Cornish chapel dated to Dark Ages